Our services centres are open for customers with appointments. Please use our online services (e.g. eServices, web chat, website) or make an appointment if you’re unable to use our digital services. Find out what are the current work pass requirements.
Skip to main content

Public Holidays for 2021

  1. The dates of the 11 gazetted public holidays for 2021 are as follows:

    New Year’s Day 1 Jan 2021 Friday
    Chinese New Year 12 Feb 2021 Friday
    13 Feb 2021 Saturday
    Good Friday 2 Apr 2021 Friday
    Labour Day 1 May 2021 Saturday
    Hari Raya Puasa * 13 May 2021 Thursday
    Vesak Day 26 May 2021 Wednesday
    Hari Raya Haji * 20 July 2021 Tuesday
    National Day 9 Aug 2021 Monday
    Deepavali 4 Nov 2021 Thursday
    Christmas Day 25 Dec 2021 Saturday
    * Subject to change.
  2. The list of public holidays for 2021 is available on the Ministry of Manpower (MOM)’s website (www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/public-holidays).

  3. With the amendments to the Employment Act[1] that took effect from 1 April 2019, all employers should note the following:
    • An employee who is required to work on a public holiday is entitled to an extra day’s salary at the basic rate of pay, in addition to his gross rate of pay for that day.
    • Alternatively, the employer and employee may mutually agree to substitute a public holiday for another working day.
    • An employer also has the additional option of granting time-off-in-lieu, based on a mutually agreed number of hours, for working on a public holiday for the following group of employees:
      • Workmen earning more than $4,500 a month;
      • Non-workmen earning more than $2,600 a month; and
      • All managers and executives.
  4. Please refer to MOM’s website for more information on public holiday provisions under the Employment Act.


  1. As of 1 Apr 2019, all managers and executives are entitled to core provisions of the Employment Act, such as paid public holidays.