Skip to main content

Public Holidays for 2020

  1. The dates of the 11 gazetted public holidays for 2020 are as follows:
New Year’s Day  1 Jan 2020    Wednesday
 Chinese New Year  25 Jan 2020  Saturday
 26 Jan 2020*  Sunday
 Good Friday  10 Apr 2020  Friday
 Labour Day  1 May 2020  Friday
 Vesak Day  7 May 2020  Thursday
 Hari Raya Puasa  24 May 2020*  Sunday
 Hari Raya Haji  31 July 2020  Friday
 National Day  9 Aug 2020*  Sunday
 Deepavali  14 Nov 2020  Saturday
 Christmas Day  25 Dec 2020  Friday

*The following Monday will be a public holiday.

  1. The list of public holidays for 2020 is available on the Ministry of Manpower’s website (


  1. With the amendments to the Employment Act that had taken effect from 1 April 2019, all employers should note the following:
  • An employee who is required to work on a public holiday is entitled to an extra day’s salary at the basic rate of pay.
  • Alternatively, the employer and employee may mutually agree to substitute a public holiday for another working day.
  • An employer also has the additional option of granting time-off-in-lieu, based on a mutually agreed number of hours, for working on a public holiday for the following group of employees:
  • Workmen earning more than $4,500 a month;
  • Non-workmen earning more than $2,600 a month; and
  • All managers and executives.
  1. For more information on the Public Holiday provisions under the Employment Act, please refer to the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) website.