Skip to main content

Public Holidays for 2019

  1. The dates of the 11 gazetted public holidays for 2019 are as follows:
    New Year’s Day 1 Jan 2019 Tuesday
    Chinese New Year 5 Feb 2019 Tuesday
    6 Feb 2019 Wednesday
    Good Friday 19 Apr 2019 Friday
    Labour Day 1 May 2019 Wednesday
    Vesak Day 19 May 2019* Sunday
    Hari Raya Puasa 5 Jun 2019 Wednesday
    National Day 9 Aug 2019 Friday
    Hari Raya Haji 11 Aug 2019* Sunday
    Deepavali 27 Oct 2019* Sunday
    Christmas Day 25 Dec 2019 Wednesday
    * The following Monday will be a public holiday.
  2. The list of public holidays for 2019 is available on the Ministry of Manpower’s website (

  3. The Ministry would like to remind all employers that under the Employment Act:
    • An employee who is required to work on a public holiday is entitled to an extra day’s salary at the basic rate of pay.
    • Alternatively, the employer and employee may mutually agree to substitute a public holiday for another working day.
    • An employer also has the additional option of granting managers and executives, earning up to a basic monthly salary of $4,500, time-off-in-lieu for working on a public holiday. The time off should consist of a mutually agreed number of hours.
  4. For more information on the Public Holiday provisions under the Employment Act, please refer to the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) website.