Skip to main content

Singapore Public Holidays 2017

  1. The dates of the 11 gazetted public holidays for 2017 are as follows:

    New Year’s Day 1 Jan 2017* Sunday
    Chinese New Year 28 Jan 2017
    29 Jan 2017*
    Good Friday 14 Apr 2017 Friday
    Labour Day 1 May 2017 Monday
    Vesak Day 10 May 2017 Wednesday
    Hari Raya Puasa 25 Jun 2017* Sunday
    National Day 9 Aug 2017 Wednesday
    Hari Raya Haji 1 Sep 2017 Friday
    Deepavali 18 Oct 2017 Wednesday
    Christmas Day 25 Dec 2017 Monday
    * The following Monday will be a public holiday.
  2. The list of public holidays for 2017 is available on the Ministry of Manpower’s website.

    Payment for Work Done on a Public Holiday
  3. The Ministry would like to remind all employers that under the Employment Act:
    • An employee who is required to work on a public holiday is entitled to an extra day’s salary at the basic rate of pay.
    • Alternatively, the employer and employee may mutually agree to substitute a public holiday for another working day.
    • An employer also has the additional option of granting managers or executives, earning up to a basic monthly salary of $4,500, time-off-in-lieu for working on a public holiday. The time off should consist of a mutually agreed number of hours.

    Public Holidays on Saturdays
  4. Under the Employment Act, if a public holiday falls on a Saturday, an employee who is not required to work on a Saturday is entitled to another day off or an extra day’s salary in lieu of that public holiday.
  5. For more information on the Public Holiday provisions under the Employment Act, please refer to the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) website.