Most customers use our digital services (e.g. eServices, web chat, website) to find out about the latest work pass requirements. If you’re unable to do so, you can make an appointment to visit our services centres.
Skip to main content

Recognising Workplace Safety and Health (WSH) competencies

For upgrading under the Multi-skilling Scheme

There will be a new upgrading pathway under the Multi-skilling Scheme to recognise experienced construction workers, who specialise in WSH-related works, as higher skilled (R1) workers. This is developed by the Ministry of Manpower (MOM), Building Construction Authority (BCA) and the Singapore Contractors Association Ltd (SCAL).

Higher skilled (R1) workers can enjoy a longer allowable period of employment (POE) of up to 22 years and lower foreign worker levies.

From 1 October 2016, basic skilled (R2) workers who have a SEC(K) in the construction sector can be certified as higher skilled (R1) workers. They must meet the following criteria:

  • Have at least 6 years of construction experience in Singapore.
  • Completed 120 hours of training in approved WSH-related courses or obtained WSQ Advanced Certificate in WSH.

By recognising environment, health and safety (EHS) trained work permit holders as higher skilled (R1) workers, more employers can retain their skilled and experienced EHS workers because they enjoy a longer POE.

Employers will also have greater flexibility in deploying multi-skilled workers on-site, thereby reducing downtime and improving safety and productivity.

These workers will ensure appropriate safety and health measures are taken at work in order to keep work conditions safe for everyone. The construction sector’s WSH standards and quality of the construction workforce in Singapore will then be improved.

For enquiries about Multi-skilling Scheme, contact BCA at:

Phone 6248 9845
Operating hours 9am to 5pm, Monday to Friday

More information: