Skip to main content

How many days of public holidays is an employee entitled to in a year?

An employee covered by the Employment Act is entitled to 11 public holidays in a year.

The 11 gazetted public holidays are:

  • New Year’s Day
  • Chinese New Year (two days)
  • Hari Raya Puasa
  • Hari Raya Haji
  • Good Friday
  • Labour Day
  • Vesak Day
  • National Day
  • Deepavali
  • Christmas Day

The employer and employee may mutually agree to substitute the public holidays.