regular textmedium textlarge text
Print This Page

National Productivity & Continuing Education Council

The National Productivity and Continuing Education Council (NPCEC) was set up in April 2010 to galvanise the nation to achieve national productivity growth of two to three per cent per annum on average over 10 years. Currently chaired by Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam, the NPCEC comprises members from the private sector, the unions and the public sector.

The Council’s three main areas of focus are:

  • To champion and prioritise national productivity initiatives at the sectoral, enterprise and worker levels
  • To develop a comprehensive, first-class national CET system
  • To entrench a culture of productivity and continuous learning and upgrading in Singapore

Key Sectors for Productivity Drive

As each sector faces unique challenges in improving productivity, the NPCEC adopts a sectoral approach and has identified 16 priority sectors. They are:

  1. Construction
  2. Electronics
  3. Precision Engineering
  4. Transport Engineering
  5. General Manufacturing
  6. Retail
  7. Food & Beverage
  8. Hotels
  9. Healthcare
  10. Info-comm, Media and Design
  11. Logistics and Storage
  12. Administrative & Support Services
  13. Financial Services
  14. Accountancy
  15. Social Services
  16. Process Construction & Maintenance

These 16 sectors are selected based on their potential for productivity enhancements. Collectively, they contribute approximately 55% of Singapore’s Gross Domestic Product (GDP) and around 60% of employment. Work groups comprising representatives from Government agencies, unions and the private sector have been formed to study and develop strategies to raise productivity for each of these sectors. This sectoral approach is complemented by horizontal productivity enablers such as the adoption of infocomm technology and CET. A $2 billion National Productivity Fund (NPF) was also established to support the productivity strategies

Last updated on 21 January 2013 05:37:22